The best salon booking software in the UK, compared honestly
The best salon booking software depends on three things: whether you want new clients from a marketplace, how much setup you want to do yourself, and whether you need a proper website. We compared 10 options on price, commission and websites, using each company’s own published pages.
Updated 15 September 2026 by the Mintbook team at Bright Loop Media Ltd. We make Mintbook, which is included here.
How we compared
- Prices, commission and website details come from each company’s own pricing and help pages, checked on 15 September 2026.
- Prices are shown as each company publishes them. Some exclude VAT; we say so where they state it.
- Where a company does not publish something, we say so rather than guess.
- No company paid to be included. The ‘who it suits’ column is our view.
- We make Mintbook. We have described it as plainly as the others, including where it is not the right fit.
We left out Timely and Setmore because we could not confirm current UK prices from their own pages on the day we checked.
10 options side by side
Mintbook
- Starting price
- £149 a month including VAT (Team £249, Growth £349)
- Marketplace commission
- None
- Website
- Branded booking website built for you, on your own domain
- Who it suits (our view)
- Established businesses that want their own website set up and run for them
Fresha
- Starting price
- £14.95 a month for one person, or £9.95 per team member, plus VAT
- Marketplace commission
- 20% on new marketplace clients, minimum £4
- Website
- Optional DIY Smart website, £12.95 a month, custom domain supported
- Who it suits (our view)
- New and solo businesses that want marketplace clients at a low monthly price
Treatwell
- Starting price
- Not published
- Marketplace commission
- 35% plus VAT on first bookings from new marketplace clients
- Website
- Treatwell-branded partner site; your own domain if Treatwell agrees
- Who it suits (our view)
- Newer salons that want marketplace demand
Booksy
- Starting price
- £40 a month plus £5 per extra team member, plus VAT
- Marketplace commission
- None, or 30% (minimum £5) with optional Boost
- Website
- Profile page on Booksy
- Who it suits (our view)
- Barbers and small teams that want one flat price
Vagaro
- Starting price
- £20 a month for one calendar
- Marketplace commission
- 20% one-time on new marketplace clients
- Website
- MySite website builder, custom domain supported
- Who it suits (our view)
- Salons and spas that want an all-in-one system with a DIY website
Square Appointments
- Starting price
- Free for one location; Plus £29 a month per location
- Marketplace commission
- None
- Website
- Free Square Online site; your own domain needs a paid Square Online plan
- Who it suits (our view)
- Solo and small businesses that want a free start and Square card payments
SimplyBook.me
- Starting price
- Free up to 50 bookings a month; Basic £12.90 a month
- Marketplace commission
- No additional transaction fees
- Website
- Booking website included; custom domain add-on £119
- Who it suits (our view)
- Service businesses that want a low-cost booking site
Slotory
- Starting price
- Free; Pro £14 a month; Business £39 a month
- Marketplace commission
- None
- Website
- Branded booking page; custom domain on Business
- Who it suits (our view)
- Solo professionals who want a simple branded booking page
Salonized
- Starting price
- £25 a month (Appointments), plus £4 per extra employee
- Marketplace commission
- Only on Treatwell bookings, if you add Treatwell: 35%
- Website
- Not stated on its pricing pages
- Who it suits (our view)
- Small salons that want simple software with optional Treatwell reach
Phorest
- Starting price
- By quote only
- Marketplace commission
- None published
- Website
- Not stated on its pricing page
- Who it suits (our view)
- Established salons that are happy to request a quote
Each option in brief
Mintbook
We make Mintbook. It is a done-for-you booking website with an owner dashboard, card on file and no-show fees, rather than software you set up yourself. It has no marketplace, so it will not find you new clients the way Fresha or Treatwell can, and it costs more than software-only tools.
Suits: Established businesses that want their own website set up and run for them.
Fresha
Fresha pairs low subscription prices with a large consumer marketplace. You pay a one-time fee on new clients it sends you, card processing on payments, and extra for add-ons such as its Smart website or AI Concierge.
Suits: New and solo businesses that want marketplace clients at a low monthly price.
Treatwell
Treatwell’s marketplace is its main draw. Repeat bookings are commission-free, but its supplier terms restrict using other booking software, and it does not publish its monthly plan prices.
Suits: Newer salons that want marketplace demand.
Booksy
Booksy includes all features in one price and lists you on its marketplace for free. Commission only applies to new clients while you have Boost switched on.
Suits: Barbers and small teams that want one flat price.
Vagaro
Vagaro bundles booking with a marketplace and a website builder you can connect to your own domain. Like Fresha, it charges a one-time fee on new clients from its marketplace.
Suits: Salons and spas that want an all-in-one system with a DIY website.
Square Appointments
Square Appointments has a genuinely free plan and ties into Square’s card readers and point of sale. In-person card rates depend on your plan.
Suits: Solo and small businesses that want a free start and Square card payments.
SimplyBook.me
SimplyBook.me plans are priced by monthly booking limits and number of providers. A booking website is included, with a one-off add-on for your own domain.
Suits: Service businesses that want a low-cost booking site.
Slotory
Slotory is a newer UK tool built around a branded booking page. Its Business plan adds a custom domain.
Suits: Solo professionals who want a simple branded booking page.
Salonized
Salonized offers tiered salon software and an optional Treatwell connection. Treatwell’s commission applies to bookings that come through that add-on.
Suits: Small salons that want simple software with optional Treatwell reach.
Phorest
Phorest does not publish prices: every plan is quoted. It does publish per-text rates by plan. Ask for a written quote that lists every monthly cost.
Suits: Established salons that are happy to request a quote.
How to choose
- Do you need new clients from a marketplace? If yes, look at Fresha, Treatwell, Booksy with Boost or Vagaro, and budget for their new-client fees.
- Are the fees already adding up? Put your numbers into the Fresha fee calculator to see what the marketplace really costs you.
- Do you want to set it up yourself? Square Appointments, SimplyBook.me and Slotory are low-cost and self-serve.
- Do you want your own website, built for you? That is what Mintbook does. See how it compares.
Questions answered
What is the best salon booking software in the UK?
There is no single best. Fresha and Treatwell suit salons that want marketplace clients, Booksy suits barbers wanting one flat price, Square Appointments suits a free start, and Mintbook suits established salons that want their own website set up for them.
Which salon booking software has no commission?
Mintbook, Slotory, SimplyBook.me and Square Appointments publish no booking commission. Booksy charges commission only if you switch on Boost. Fresha, Treatwell and Vagaro charge a one-time fee on new clients from their marketplaces.
Do I need a website as well as booking software?
Not always. A marketplace profile or booking page can take bookings. A website in your own name gives you somewhere to send every booking link that is not beside competitors’ listings, and something you control if you ever change software.
Why does Mintbook cost more than Fresha or Booksy?
Mintbook is not only booking software. The monthly price includes a branded website built for you, hosting, setup of your services and team, and ongoing support, with no commission. If you only need booking software, a cheaper tool may suit you better.
How we checked this
Competitor details on this page were last checked on 15 September 2026against each company's own published pages. Prices and terms change, so confirm anything important with the provider before you decide.
Where to next
- All comparisonsMintbook side by side with Fresha, Treatwell and Booksy.
- Fresha fee calculatorWork out what Fresha costs you each month from its published UK rates.
- How to leave FreshaA step-by-step checklist: exports, notice, booking links and telling clients.
- Salon booking systemWhat a salon needs from online booking, and how Mintbook sets it up.
Let’s build yours.
Tell us about your studio and watch your demo take shape. We build the real thing by hand, free, no obligation.
One flat monthly fee, no commission. We quote it for your studio.
Your StudioSalonThis is the idea. Your real demo is built by hand, free.